How do You Know if You Have Healthy Poop?

We all need to know what healthy poop looks like. It’s the best indication of our health! You’ve never heard me say this before, but you will hear me say it again: All disease begins in the gut!

I know from experience that if a person doesn’t know about healthy poop, they can be sick or on their way to disease without knowing it.

My first clues about my Candida overgrowth and IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome) was gas, bloating and constipation. Followed by bouts of diarrhea. But I actually didn’t know I was constipated! I was actually pooping “little balls” about 9 times per day. So, I thought I was fine.

This went on for about 38 years before I realized that it wasn’t normal. By then, I’d had more embarrassing poop and gas situations than a person should have to deal with, and I had a massive systemic Candida infection. This all could have been avoided if I’d known when I was little that my pooping habits were not normal.

I don’t want that to happen to you.

People don’t want to talk about poop because they’re embarrassed.

I get it. It’s gross. But WE are gonna talk about it.

You can suffer from chronic constipation and not even know it. I did! I was pooping all the time! Like, 8-10 times per day! How can a person who poops 8-10 times per day be constipated? Here’s how. It was always small amounts of what my family affectionately called “goat turds.” – the tiny little balls represented as type 1 on the Bristol Stool Chart.

Bristol Stool Chart

I want to help you avoid the pain and discomfort that I lived with because I thought it was normal. It is NOT normal to poop little balls 10 times per day and have gas that can turn the biggest, hairiest guy on the school football team green. It is NOT normal!

On the Bristol Stool Chart, type 1&2 represent constipation (if only I had known!).

Type 3-4 represent healthy, comfortable stools.

Type 5 is between healthy and diarrhea.

Type 6&7 represent varying levels of diarrhea.

Type 1,2,5,6&7 are all indications of some level of inflammation in the gut. Just like pain is your body’s way of telling you that something is wrong, inflammation is another way your body can tell you that something is wrong.

Functional and integrative medicine, Ayurveda, Chinese medicine and others agree that all disease begins in the gut. It is our job to pay attention to our body’s signals and do what we can to keep our insides flowing freely.

Our gut is our first defense against illness. It’s where our immune system does its best work! But it can’t do that work if it is plagued by chronic inflammation due to the standard American diet.

If you are constipated, there are various things you can do to get relief.

The first thing you should try is drinking more water. Specifically, try having 8 oz. of water with the juice of half a lemon first thing in the morning. Lemon water is very helpful with detoxification, and if you’re anything like me, in about a half hour, you will be having a lovely bowel movement that will leave you feeling light and ready for the day ahead!

Also, you should be drinking about half of your body weight in ounces of water per day. So, if you weigh 140 lbs., you should try to get in 70 ounces of water every day. This helps to keep the digestive tract lubricated.

Another thing you could try is powdered magnesium citrate. The way to find your optimal dosage is by trial and error. Start with ¼ teaspoon in 4 oz. of warm water before bed. If you don’t have diarrhea the next day (you probably won’t), up the dosage to ½ teaspoon, then 1 teaspoon etc. until you experience diarrhea. The dosage that caused diarrhea was too much, so reduce it to the largest dose that didn’t give you diarrhea, and you’ve got it. Take that dose every night before bed.

If you follow it with the lemon water in the morning, that’s even better!

Physical activity also can improve digestion. It can be as simple as going for a 30 minute walk a few times a week or doing yoga or going for a run.

If you suffer from chronic constipation or diarrhea, then you might have some level of inflammation in your gut. You could consider some dietary alterations to reduce your gut inflammation. It’s up to you and what you’re ready for.

Here are some things to consider:

Common triggers for gut inflammation are sugar, caffeine, gluten, dairy and eggs. You could do a simple 30-day elimination diet by removing those five common triggers from your diet and then re-introducing them one at a time for 5 days each and see how that affects you.

Many times, after taking away the triggers for constant low-level gut inflammation, when you put those triggers back in, your reaction will be much more severe and noticeable than it was before. If you’re sensitive to any of those foods, you’ll experience difficulties like brain fog, headaches, diarrhea, constipation, achy joints, skin irritations, flu-like symptoms, or a variety of other symptoms.

If you want to try this, and you don’t really know where to start or what to eat instead of those foods, go ahead and email me at Laurie@your-radiant-life.com. I’d love to help!

Poop is one of my favorite subjects. Good poop is an indication of good health! For more information on gut health, candida and thyroid issues, look around on my website.

You can read more blog posts, sign up for my newsletter or even schedule a free consultation with me! I’d love to see how I can serve you!

Leave a Reply

