Cannelini and Brussels Sprouts Soup

This is one of the soup recipes I started making last summer when I had more veggies than I knew what to do with. I found this one on localthyme.net. I have adjusted it a little bit. Try and enjoy! Hey, did you know that brussels sprouts look like this when they’re growing? Isn’t that cool?

3012411273_068ea781f1_b

One thing I want you to know about my blogging style. It might sound silly, but I think it’s important for us to understand each other.

I love those recipes on blogs where the author tells you their complete life story and how their relatives and their cat enjoyed this recipe the last time Uncle Doug was in town and all of that. It’s lovely. It’s homey. It makes you want to curl up with the author and watch a movie with some buttery popcorn.

I don’t write like that. When I give you a recipe, there may be a short story about why I use the recipe and the fact that even my picky daughter likes it, but I won’t go on and on with millions of pictures and make you wait a year to get to the actual recipe. I do want to have more pictures than I do in this post, though. Geez! I don’t even have a picture of the finished product to show you! I apologize for that, and I will do better in the future, but there you have it. I hope to keep things short and simple. For your sake and for mine. Deal? Good. On with the show…

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 1 Onion , minced
  • 4 cloves Garlic , minced
  • 1 quart Chicken Bone Broth or Chicken or Vegetable Stock
  • 28 ounces Cannelini Bean , drained and rinsed
  • 2 sprigs Dill
  • 20-25 Brussels Sprouts , quartered
  • Grated Parmesan Cheese (optional)
  • sea salt and pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Heat oil in soup pot over medium heat, add onion and a little bit of sea salt and sauté until tender, about 8 minutes. Add garlic and stir for about a minute longer.
  2. Pour stock and cannelini beans into the soup pot, add sprigs of dill. Bring soup to a boil, stir in Brussels Sprouts then reduce to simmer and cook for about 15 minutes, until veggies are tender. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Taste, adjust seasoning and serve with cheese, if you like that sort of thing.

I adapted this recipe from one that I found at localthyme.net.

Enjoy your healthy soup!

 

Leave a Reply

